### William & Mary Law School

## William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository

History of William & Mary Law School

Archives and Law School History

10-1980

## Revitalized Marshall-Wythe Dedicated at Ceremony

College of William & Mary

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/history

#### **Repository Citation**

College of William & Mary, "Revitalized Marshall-Wythe Dedicated at Ceremony" (1980). *History of William & Mary Law School*. 31.

https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/history/31

Copyright c 1980 by the authors. This article is brought to you by the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository.

https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/history

# Revitalized Marshall-Wythe Dedicated at Ceremony

Three Former Governors, Hundreds of Alumni, Take Tour of New Facility

William and Mary dedicated its new law school building at the end of Burgesses Day on Sept. 13 in the presence of three former governors of Virginia and many of the state's leading jurists.

The College announced the establishment of two new professorships of law - one in honor of former president John Stewart Bryan and the other in honor of former governor Mills E. Godwin Jr. '35 who shared the podium with two other former governors, Albertis S. Harrison and J. Lindsay Almond.

In his remarks to a crowd of more than 500 in 90-degree heat in front of the new Marshall-Wythe School of Law building located about a half mile from the main campus next to the National Center for State Courts, Dean William B. Spong Jr. called the building "a gift from the people of Virginia."

Accepting a gold key to the building, Spong said: "Today is a beginning. A higher plateau of excellence and service is reachable."

Governor Godwin occupied center stage during the ceremony as Spong announced the establishment of the Mills E. Godwin Jr. Professorship of Law endowed by a gift from Richmond financier Lawrence Lewis Jr., the Noland Co. Foundation of Newport News, and R. R. Smith, chairman of the board of Smith's Transfer Corp. of Verona, Va.

Spong paid tribute to the former two-time governor under whose administration the College received both site preparation money and support for a \$125 million bond referendum which passed easily in November 1977. The \$5.4 million for construction of the 88,000-square foot building, one of the most modern in the nation, was included in the bond issue.

In announcing the Godwin Professorship, College officials noted it was created "to memorialize the sterling leadership which he gave the Commonwealth of Virginia in his two terms as governor; to recognize his stance of honest, fiscally responsible and efficient government; and, in general, to salute the faithful, valuable service that he, throughout his long and distinguished public career, rendered the Commonwealth and all of its citizens."



Approximately 500 guests attended the dedication ceremonies which were held in front of the new law school building on South Henry Street adjacent to the National Center for State Courts.

Dean Spong accepted a gold key to the \$5.4 million law school building which he described as one of the most modern in he nation.

Photos by Thomas L. Williams

The John Stewart Bryan Professorship of Jurisprudence, in honor of William and Mary's president from 1934 to 1942, was established by an endowment from members of the Bryan family, including D. Tennant Bryan, Richmond, chairman of Media General; Amanda Bryan Kane of Charlottesville, and Elizabeth G. Henry of New York City. Bryan's period at William and Mary was known as an "era of good feeling" and he was credited with increasing the size and quality of the College faculty, in addition to his many other accomplishments.

In his remarks, Spong said that "the eyes of our faculty and students are understandably to the future."

"How this building is used will determine if we are worthy of our rich heritage, worthy of the long struggle for survival and worthy of the faith of the people of the Commonwealth."

Governor John N. Dalton '53 had attended Burgesses Day festivities earlier in the day but had to leave campus for another engagement before the dedication began at 4:30 p.m. After the official ceremony, guests toured the building and attended a reception on the grounds.



President Graves (left) and Dean Spong (right) welcomed three former Virginia governors to the dedication: J. Lindsay Almond (next to Graves) Mills E. Godwin Jr. '35 and Albertis S. Harrison. Spong announced the Mills E. Godwin Jr. Professorship of Law during the ceremonies.