William & Mary Law School

William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository

Deans, Faculty, & Library Directors

Archives and Law School History

2022

Deans of the William & Mary Law School

William & Mary Law School

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/lists

Repository Citation

William & Mary Law School, "Deans of the William & Mary Law School" (2022). *Deans, Faculty, & Library Directors*. 1.

https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/lists/1

Copyright c 2022 by the authors. This article is brought to you by the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository.

https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/lists

Deans of the William & Mary Law School

1779-1789: George Wythe*

1790-1804: St. George Tucker*

1804-1813: William Nelson*

1813-1818: Robert Nelson*

1819-1834: James Semple*

1834-1851: Nathaniel Beverley Tucker*

1852-1855: George Parker Scarburgh*

1855-1858: Lucian Minor*

1860-1861: Charles Morris*

1861-1921: Law School closed

1923-1932 (on leave 1929-1932): John Garland Pollard

1932-1942: Theodore Sullivan Cox

1942-1946: Dudley W. Woodbridge, Acting Dean

1946-1947: Theodore Sullivan Cox

1947-1948: Arthur Warren Phelps

1948-1962: Dudley W. Woodbridge (Acting Dean 1948-1950)

1962-1969: Joseph Curtis (Acting Dean 1962-1963)

1970-1975: James P. Whyte, Jr.

1975-1976: Emeric Fischer, Acting Dean

1976-1985: William Spong

1985-1992: Timothy Sullivan

1992-1993: Richard A. Williamson, Acting Dean

1993-1994: Paul Marcus, Acting Dean

^{*}Chair of Law [and Police]; the sole faculty member offering instruction to law students.

1994-1997: Thomas G. Krattenmaker

1997-1998: Paul Marcus, Interim Dean

August 1998-February 2008: W. Taylor Reveley, III

February 2008-June 2009: Lynda Butler, Interim Dean

July 2009-2020: Davison M. Douglas

July 2020-present: A. Benjamin Spencer

^{*}Chair of Law [and Police]; the sole faculty member offering instruction to law students.