# College of William & Mary Law School William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository

George Wythe Lecture

Conferences, Events, and Lectures

1993

## Chaos Theory and the Justice Paradox (Program)

Robert E. Scott

#### Repository Citation

Scott, Robert E., "Chaos Theory and the Justice Paradox (Program)" (1993). *George Wythe Lecture*. 17. https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/wythe/17

 $Copyright\ c\ 1993\ by\ the\ authors.\ This\ article\ is\ brought\ to\ you\ by\ the\ William\ \&\ Mary\ Law\ School\ Scholarship\ Repository.$  https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/wythe

## The

### GEORGE WYTHE LECTURE

1992-93

Marshall-Wythe School of Law

COLLEGE
OF
WILLIAM AND MARY

April 5, 1993 Room 124, 3:30 p.m.

#### Robert Scott

Robert E. Scott is Dean and Lewis F. Powell, Jr. and Arnold H. Leon Professor at the University fo Virginia School of Law. He holds a B.A. from Oberlin, a J.D. from William and Mary and an LL.M. and S.J.D. from Michigan. He was Editor-in-Chief of the William and Mary Law Review.

Dean Scott is the author of numerous scholarly articles and of <u>Contract Law and Theory</u>, <u>Commercial Transactions</u>: <u>Principles and Policies</u>, and <u>Sales and the Contracting Process</u>.

# THE 1992-93 GEORGE WYTHE LECTURE PROGRAM

#### WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION

Richard A. Williamson

Acting Dean and Chancellor Professor of Law

#### **LECTURE**

"Chaos Theory and the Justice Paradox"

Robert E. Scott

Dean and
Lewis F. Powell, Jr., and Arnold H. Leon Professor of Law
University of Virgina

#### THE GEORGE WYTHE LECTURE SERIES

George Wythe held the first academic chair of law in America at William and Mary from 1779 until 1790. The annual George Wythe Lecture is named in his honor. Established in 1976, the initial lectures of the series marked the 250th anniversary of the birth of George Wythe. The Wythe lecturers have included:

- Francis Allen, 1976-77, former Dean of the Michigan School and President of the Association of American Law Schools.
- The late Paul C. Reardon, 1977-78, Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts.
- William W. Van Alstyne, 1978-79, Professor at Duke University, former visiting professor at the Marshall-Wythe School of Law.
- The late Sir Rupert Cross, 1979-80, Vinerian Professor of Law at Oxford University.
- The Honorable A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr., 1980-81, Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.
- Aubrey Diamond, 1981-82, Professor and Director of the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London.
- The Honorable Thomas F. Eagleton, 1982-83, United States Senator from Missouri.
- Kenneth R. Crispell, M.D., 1983 -84, University Professor of Medicine and Law, University of Virginia.
- Lee C. Bollinger, 1984-85, Professor of Law at the University of Michigan.
- Guido Calabresi, 1985-86, Dean and Sterling Professor, the Yale Law School.
- Kenneth Culp Davis, 1986-87, Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of San Diego School of Law.
- G. Edward White, 1987-88, John B. Minor Professor of Law and History at the University of Virginia.
- Paul D. Carrington, 1988-89, Professor of Law at Duke University. Graham J. Zellick, 1989-90, Drapers' Professor of Law at Queen Mary and Westfield College of the University of London.
- Jerry L. Mashaw, 1990-91, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law, the Yale Law School.
- Dean Robert Scott, 1992-93, Dean and Lewis F. Powell, Jr. and Arnold H. Leon Professor of Law at the University of Virginia.