## College of William & Mary Law School William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository

## **IBRL** History

Institute of Bill of Rights Law

1988

## The Institute of Bill of Rights Law

Institute of Bill of Rights Law at the William & Mary Law School

**Repository Citation** 

Institute of Bill of Rights Law at the William & Mary Law School, "The Institute of Bill of Rights Law" (1988). *IBRL History*. 4. https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/ibrlhistory/4

Copyright c 1988 by the authors. This article is brought to you by the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository. https://scholarship.law.wm.edu/ibrlhistory



## The Institute of Bill of Rights Law

The Institute of Bill of Rights Law is an organization committed to quality research and education on constitutional liberties. Dean Timothy Sullivan serves as Executive Director of the Institute. The director of the Institute is Rodney A. Smolla, James Gould Cutler Professor of Constitutional Law. The Institute was established in 1982 by a bequest of Laura Lee, who held a lifelong interest in a free press and its role in our society, in memory of her parents, Alfred Wilson Lee and Mary I. W. Lee. The Institute is an academic foundation; it is funded through both private and public sources; it undertakes no lobbying and adopts no partisan political stance.

The Institute sponsors conferences and symposia bringing together major constitutional law scholars, historians, political scientists, practicing lawyers, and journalists. Topics from previous years have included "Defamation and the First Amendment: New Perspectives" (1984); "National Security and the First Amendment" (1985); "Religion and the State" (1986); "1787: The Constitution in Perspective" (1987); "The American Constitutional Tradition of Shared and Separated Powers" (1988). The proceedings of these symposia are published annually in the *William and Mary Law Review*.

One of the primary missions of the Institute is to encourage communication between the fields of law and journalism. The Institute has cooperated with the American Newspaper Publishers Association, the American Society of Newspaper Editors, the Assocation of American Editorial Cartoonists, the First Amendment Congress, the National Conference of Editorial Writers, and the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association in offering programs for journalists on legal issues affecting the press, as well as conferences designed to assist journalists in understanding and reporting on constitutional issues of interest to the general public.

Symposia and conferences provide William and Mary students with extraordinary access to major thinkers in important areas of the law. Past participants have included Vincent Blasi (Columbia), Gerhard Casper (Chicago), Jesse Choper (California), Norman Dorsen (NYU), Marc Franklin (Stanford), Lawrence Friedman (Stanford), Morton Horwitz (Harvard), Philip Kurland (Chicago), Frederick Schauer (Michigan), Laurence Tribe (Harvard), and William Van Alstyne (Duke).

To encourage research the Institute brings to Marshall-Wythe major scholars as visiting professors. Since the initiation of the program, the Distinguished Lee Professors have included David Anderson of the University of Texas Law School (1983), Robert Kamenshine of the Vanderbilt School of Law (1984), and Kent Greenawalt the Cardozo Professor of Jurisprudence at Columbia Law School (1985). Two Lee Professors visited during the 1987-88 term: Yale Kamisar, Henry K. Ranson Professor at the University of Michigan and G. Edward White, John B. Minor Professor of Law and History, University of Virginia. Robert F. Nagel, Moses Lasky Professor at the University of Colorado, will be the Lee Professor during the 1988-89 term. These scholars have contributed substantially to opportunities for faculty and student development.